Three SEC Teams Advance to College World Series

The best conference in America in college baseball will have three representatives on the sport’s biggest stage, with three schools making it through Super Regionals and qualifying for the College World Series in Omaha. The LSU Tigers defeated SEC counterpart Kentucky 2 games to none, as did the Florida Gators to South Carolina.

The third team to qualify was Tennessee, who fought back from a game one loss on the road against Southern Miss in the Hattiesburg Super Regional. The Vols won games two and three to advance to Omaha after not qualifying last year despite a historic regular season.

The double elimination College World Series will begin on Friday with the first game between TCU and Oral Roberts. The first SEC team to play will be Florida, who takes on Virginia on Friday night.

LSU and Tennessee are matched up against each other, with their game being Saturday evening after Wake Forest takes on Stanford. The two favorites in the tournament are considered to be Wake Forest, who is the #1 team in the country, and LSU.

While the SEC did not get as many teams to Omaha as expected, don’t count out any of the three as they pursue a national championship.