Seven in-state players on 2017 Maxwell Award watch list

Seven in-state players on 2017 Maxwell Award watch list

MOBILE, AL (WNSP) — Seven in-state players made the 2017 Maxwell Award watch list: four players from the University of Alabama, two players from Auburn University, and one player from Troy University. 

The Crimson Tide not only led the state in players on the list, but also the nation.

The Maxwell Football Club released its watch list on the NCAA’s website Monday, featuring 85 players from across the country. According to its website, The Maxwell Award is presented to “America’s College Player of the Year.”

Three of the seven players are Alabama natives: Bo Scarbrough (Tuscaloosa), Kamryn Pettway (Montgomery) and Brandon Silvers (Orange Beach). The full list of in-state players is listed below:


·      Minkah Fitzpatrick DB

·      Jalen Hurts QB

·      Calvin Ridley WR

·      Bo Scarbrough RB


·      Kamryn Pettway RB

·      Jarrett Stidham QB


·       Brandon Silvers QB

The 81st annual Maxwell Award will be presented on December 7.

Be sure to tune in this afternoon at 3 pm for more of our LIVE SEC Media Day coverage with Randy Kennedy and Creg Stephenson. Many special guests are scheduled for the show, including Fitzpatrick.

Morgan Eiland