Nuts and Bolts

History of championship quarterbacks runs deep in Alabama

In the last 50 years, there have been 59 teams legitimately crowned as a national champion in college football. That includes eight seasons when two teams shared the title and one year in which three teams earned the crown.

It won’t surprise anybody to learn that 11 of those 59 teams were quarterbacked by players who hailed from the state of California. That includes not only players who played for USC, but also BYU, Colorado, Miami and Oklahoma.

But most fans probably wouldn’t guess that second on the list behind California is Alabama. Nine of those 59 teams were quarterbacked by players from our state.

They include:

2015  Jake Coker

2013  Jameis Winston

2012  and 2011 AJ McCarron

1998  Tee Martin

1992  Jay Barker

1979  Steadman Shealy

1978  Jeff Rutledge

1973  Gary Rutledge

Who knows when the Alabama list will grow? No quarterback on the depth chart at either Alabama or Auburn hails from this state.

So, the list almost certainly will not grow this season unless former Faith Academy star Malik Rosier can win the job and the title at Miami. The next best option may be Brandon Silvers at Troy.

Still, it should be a point of pride that quarterbacks from Mobile to Dothan to Birmingham have led their teams to the ultimate prize in college football.

For Threaded Fasteners, I’m Randy Kennedy with Nuts and Bolts of the Game.

next post: 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame: Inductees, TV channel, live stream info, start timeprevious post: Five things to know about the Saints on Friday, August 4