HS FOOTBALL

Coastal Bank and Trust Player of the Week: Carlton Martial

CoastalPotWUSETHISONEMobile, Ala. (WNSP) – Every week WNSP’s High School Football team will acknowledge one local player for his outstanding performance on the field. 

For the second week of the playoffs, the winner is McGill-Toolen’s Carlton Martial. The senior middle linebacker was a force to be reckoned with in the Jackets’ 27-23 quarterfinal victory over the Enterprise Wildcats. Martial recorded 16 tackles,  sacks and a pass breakup on the night. His second sack clinched the win in the closing seconds of the game.

Martial has committed to play for Alabama A&M next season; he had multiple scholarship offers at the next level.

Coach Caleb Ross on the game: “We did a lot of things wrong tonight, but give Enterprise a lot of credit. We had trouble protecting Bubba (Thompson); we struggled with turnovers and penalties, too. But Enterprise was 10-1 for a reason. We knew they were a competitive team, and we certainly didn’t take this game lightly. At this point in the season, we’ll take wins any way we can get them.”

McGill-Toolen will welcome the Central-Phenix City Red Devils in next week’s state semifinal contest. Kickoff is slated for 7 p.m. on Friday, November 18. The winner will face the winner of the other semifinal matchup between Hoover and Gadsden City on November 30 in Auburn’s Jordan-Hare Stadium.

Congratulations to this week’s Coastal Bank and Trust Player of the Week – Carlton Martial!

fullsizerenderPast winners:

Week 12 – Reid Norton http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-reid-norton/

Week 11 – Dalton Goff http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-dalton-goff/

Week 10 – Darius Bracy http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-darius-bracy/ 

Week 9 – Cephus Johnson http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-cephus-johnson/

Week 8 – Johnathon Perryman http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-5/

Week 7 – Tamaurice Smith http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-4/

Week 6 – Marlon Williams http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-marlon-williams/

Week 5 – Eric Poellnitz http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-3/ 

Week 4 – Kadarius Toney http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week/

Week 3 – Archie Ward  http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-trust-player-of-the-week-alma-bryants-archie-ward/

Week 2 – Trevor Andrews http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-trevor-andrews/

Week 1 – Donte Edwards http://wnsp.com/wordpress/coastal-bank-and-trust-player-of-the-week-donte-edwards/

 

next post: AP Top 25 features 3 Alabama teams for the first timeprevious post: Washington Co. lawsuit puts off playoff game